Escape into Meaning: Essays on Superman, Public Benches, and Other Obsessions

£9.9
FREE Shipping

Escape into Meaning: Essays on Superman, Public Benches, and Other Obsessions

Escape into Meaning: Essays on Superman, Public Benches, and Other Obsessions

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

The Superman essay especially worked so much better as a video, since you could actually see the scenes he's referring to instead of just reading descriptions of them. Here he dissects the blissfulness of sitting on a public bench in Barcelona, watching the world go by during the covid-19 pandemic. All great leaders of history have known this, and were successful because of the risks they dared to take. Invisible is a big-ideas podcast about small-seeming things, revealing stories baked into the buildings we inhabit, the streets we drive, and the sidewalks we traverse. Then to read your exact thoughts on the page from an author who perhaps lived centuries ago… it reminds us of this shared thread of humanity that runs through everyone existing in this world.

Why should not we have a poetry and philosophy of insight and not of tradition, and a religion by revelation to us, and not the history of theirs? There are ways Emerson’s exaltation of the self goes too far, but it’s also an essential message, made all the more essential for the beauty of its articulation.The path splintered after you finally landed a job, but when I was young that seemed a lifetime away.

this zodiac of lights, this tent of dropping clouds, this striped coat of climates, this fourfold year? Puschak selflessly shares some of his sharpest insight not only about the culture that shaped him, but also how he sees the world. Sometimes it can be hard to make out when Emerson’s being literal and when he’s using hyperbole as a rhetorical device. You know the experience I’m talking about: someone phrases something perfectly and an idea that’s been a fog in the background of your mind suddenly solidifies. In the moment it seems impulse; in the year, in the lifetime, it turns out to be a certain uniform tune which the revolving barrel of the music-box must play.Now, in his debut essay collection, “Escape Into Meaning,” he attempts to translate his signature style into the written word. Books and the institutions that teach them are indispensable tools, but they serve us best “when they aim not to drill, but to create; when they gather from far every ray of various genius to their hospitable halls and, by the concentrated fires, set the hearts of their youth on flame. What makes this essay so great is how he captures an experience that I — and I suspect many others — have felt. But we need not worry, says Emerson, for “the sour faces of the multitude, like their sweet faces, have no deep cause, but are put on and off as the wind blows and the newspaper directs. In Seinfeld’s case: his discomfort with the idea of engaged humour and the fact that by disengaging himself with the idea of a message, it inherently gives his comedy one.

What angels invented these splendid ornaments, these rich conveniences, this ocean of air above, this ocean of water beneath, this firmament of earth between? I’ve been watching his videos on YouTube for the past 7 years (at least) so it made me happy that he published a full book. We must ensure that civilization would rebound if it collapsed, counter the end of moral progress, and prepare for a planet where the smartest beings are digital, not human.

Perfect for fans of Trick Mirror and the writing of John Hodgman and Chuck Klosterman, Escape into Meaning is a compendium of fascinating insights into obsession. His writing style is much better served by the spoken, visual medium of video essays than it is by this long-form format. that we would happily give up every crumb of personal information for packages delivered a few days sooner?

For Emerson, Jesus was someone who had the courage to seek the infinite in himself, and his example should have been an inspiration for the rest of us to do the same. I just wish everybody would express themselves a little more like that instead of cringing in conformity. From Anna Akhmatova to Stefan Zweig, via Charles de Gaulle, Hitler, Thomas Mann and Charlie Chaplin, this varied and unfailingly absorbing book is both story and history, both public memoir and personal record - and provides an essential field-guide to the vast movements of taste, intellect, politics and delusion that helped to prepare the times we live in now.That, or I brushed him off as a dreary old statue of a man, who, from his high perch in the American Pantheon, had little to say to someone like me. This emphasis on old wisdom creates a culture of “bookworms,” not thinkers, “meek young men [who] grow up in libraries, believing it their duty to accept the views, which Cicero, which Locke, which Bacon have given, forgetful that Cicero, Locke, and Bacon were only young men in libraries when they wrote these books.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop